$586

North Allen Avenue

Chicago, IL 60618

Private room with shared bathroom
3 bedrooms
1 bathrooms
2 roomies
Bills
Not included
Furnishing
Unfurnished
Security deposit
None
Property type
Apartment
Preferred gender
Anyone welcome
Available on
29th August
Parking
Not available
Internet
Available
Stay length
6 - 12 months
About the room

Hello! I am looking to rent the third bedroom in my 3br 1Ba apartment straddling Logan Square and Avondale. The room itself is medium sized, but the apartment itself is spacious with a super decked out kitchen, two living rooms, and front/back porches and yards with gardens in each. Total rent is $1760, so a third of that makes each tenant responsible for $586 in monthly rent. Utilities are gas, electric, and internet, and total about $60-80 a month on top of that per person. We split utilities three ways and right now share the burden of communal items like toilet paper and cleaning products, and if possible want to keep that arrangement going. Laundry is in building, downstairs, and is $1 per load. I have one very chill and affectionate cat; she LOVES humans, can get used to dogs rafter a while, and unfortunately hates other cats. The landlord is super attentive and responsible, and I've been here four years because he's been on top of any problems I've brought to his attention right away. Actual walk time to belmont blue line is 7 minutes, walking to Logan Square blue line is 8. 40 minute bike ride to the Loop. Street permit parking is available on the block and nearby, and downstairs tenants are moving out so a parking spot in back of the apartment is becoming available.

We try to keep communal spaces tidy and organized; we aren't total neat freaks, but try to keep the space comfortable and functional and want our third roommate to be willing to pitch in with shared chores. We would prefer to live with someone who is comfortable with direct communication and giving/receiving feedback to maintain a harmonious living environment; everyone has different living styles, but communication is important so everyone can be comfortable and happy. Please email me if interested; I would like to meet potential roommates in a public place like a coffee shop before showing the apartment (this is the internet).

Communal areas are furnished (couches, tables, chairs) and the kitchen is about as equipped as a kitchen ever reasonably should be, so I reccomend just coming with furniture for your bedroom. The room can fit a queen bed, small dresser, and side table, and has a medium sized closet. There is some communal storage space available as well if you don't want to put extra smaller stuff in storage.

I cook for a living and so come home very late (2-4 AM). I try to be quiet coming home, but light sleepers beware, the floorboards do make noise and that is the only noise I can't really reduce when entering the house. If you're a heavy or moderate sleeper you definitely won't notice. We aren't big party animals, but have friends over occasionally for dinner and keep it to a reasonable volume/timeframe and always ask first. 420 friendly indoors, smoking cigarettes is okay outside the house (there is an ashtray on the back porch), but please, no hard drugs.

I am in my late 20's, and I am a female chef. My one current roommate is in his mid-20's, works at the U of C, and enjoys playing music, and is also an avid cook.

The room is available November 26; my roommate is moving to Europe on that day for his job. If you are interested in a lease, the one prerequisite is just that you fill out an application with the landlord and consent to a credit check. If you would prefer to sublease, I personally just ask that you demonstrate with pay stubs or references that you are reliably able to pay rent on time.

BONUS, the upstairs neighbors and I maintain a full-swing vegetable garden, so there are abundant peppers, tomatoes, and eggplants for grabs if you decide to live here. Even if you aren't a veggie person, there are a lot of plants and flowers around, so it is a very nice yard to hang out in with a fire pit and a BBQ.

About Sara
Photo of Sara from Instagram
Instagram
List your room or create a profile and verify to view Sara on social media
Photo of Sara
Sara's listing is not available

Never transfer money without viewing the property and meeting the roommates.

Something suspicious about this listing? Report it